Osteopathic Physician Requirements for License Renewal

thumbnail-1

Florida Osteopathic Physicians, March 31 is fast approaching!  We want to give you a quick visual of all of your CE requirements so there aren’t any surprises when you are renewing your license.  Keep reading to learn more about your 2016 biennium requirements.

If you are a Osteopathic Physician renewing your license, your requirements are listed below:

Requirement Hour Breakdown
Requirement Hour Breakdown

* Licensees must obtain 2 hours of Domestic Violence every third renewal period as part of the 40 hours required.

If you are an Osteopathic Physician renewing your license for the first time and you were licensed in the first year of the renewal cycle, your renewal requirements are:

  • All of the above hours
  • 1 hour HIV/AIDS

If you are an Osteopathic Physician renewing your license for the first time and you were licensed in the second year of the renewal cycle, your renewal requirements are:

  • 1 hour HIV/AIDS
  • 1 hour Florida Laws and Rules (must be live)
  •  1 hour Professional & Medical Ethics (must be live)
  • 1 hour Federal & State Laws related to the Prescribing of Controlled Substances (must be live)
  • 2 hours Medical Errors (must be live)

CE Broker is dedicated to helping you successfully renew your license. We have plenty of tools for you to utilize if you have any questions! We have added a special FAQ section just for Osteopathic Physicians in our Support pages. To read over those, click here.

For your ultimate worry-free, personalized solution try our 7-Day Trial for our Professional Account. With your Professional Account you can receive notifications of license deadlines, report CE to your account, access to your CE Compliance Transcript and more to simplify your renewal process.

Podiatrists Requirements for License Renewal

thumbnail-2

If you are a Podiatric Physician in Florida, then you are getting ready to renew your license. March 31st, 2016 is your big day! We want to make sure that you are aware of your specific renewal requirements. Continue reading below to find your biennium requirements for Podiatric Physicians and Podiatric X-Ray Assistants.

If you are a Podiatric Physician, your requirements are:

  • 2 hours Medical Errors
  • 1 hour Laws & Rules of the Board
  • 1 hour Risk Management
  • 36 hours General

If you are a Podiatric Physician renewing for the first time, your requirements are:

  • 2 hours Medical Error
  • 1 hour HIV/AIDS
  • Podiatric Physicians initially licensed in the biennium or within 24 months of initial licensure must attend one full day at a Florida Board of Podiatric Medicine meeting at which disciplinary hearings are conducted.

If you are a Podiatric X-Ray Assistant, your requirements vary a bit. Your requirements are broken down below:

  • 8 hours of Recertification course (Recertification course must be from the Florida Podiatric Medical Association and should include Medical Errors)

If you are a Podiatric X-Ray Assistant renewing for the first time, your requirements are:

  • 8 hours of Recertification course (Recertification course must be from the Florida Podiatric Medical Association and should include Medical Errors)

Each healthcare profession in Florida will vary on what credits count towards your compliance. Below are some “Did You Know” facts specific to Podiatrists.

  • You can only receive credit for 8 hours per biennium of home study courses
  • Courses have to be at least 1 hour in length, otherwise they won’t count

CE Broker is dedicated to helping you successfully renew your license. We have plenty of tools for you to utilize if you have any questions! We have added a special FAQ section just for Podiatrists in our Support pages. To read over those, click here

For your ultimate worry-free, personalized solution try our 7-Day Trial for our Professional Account. With your Professional Account you can receive notifications of license deadlines, report CE to your account, access to your CE Compliance Transcript and more to simplify your renewal process.

Florida Board of Orthotists & Prosthetists Requirements Explained

New InfographicFlorida Board of Orthotists & Prosthetist

 

With the first mandatory license renewal right around the corner, you want to be sure that you are on the right track. You don’t want any surprises when you renew your license! It’s especially important that you understand the live hours requirement. Keep reading to learn more.

We want to go over all of your requirements so you know what is expected of you each biennium. Below is a chart of your CE requirements (first time license renewals may differ):

 

Orthotists, Prosthetists & Pedorthists CE Requirements:

O&P Chart

Orthotic Fitter CE Requirements:

Orthotic Fitter Chart

Orthotic Fitter Assistant CE Requirements:

Orthotic Fitter Assistant Chart

What if this is my first renewal?

If this is your first license renewal you are only required to complete 2 hours Medical Errors. Please do keep in mind that Medical Errors must be Board approved.

CE Broker iPhone and Android Apps- Continuing Education Simplified.

Our free CE Broker iPhone or Android app, available in the iTunes Store and in Google Play, is the best way to manage your CE from anywhere, anytime. You can create a FREE Basic Account and even upgrade to a Professional or Concierge account with your iTunes/Google Play account, if you so desire. That means no credit card is required since your account on file is automatically charged. Once you download the app you need, you can see your Course History, Report CE, use the Course Search Tool and even view your CE Compliance Transcript. Visit the iTunes or Google Play store and download your app for free today!

What if I Have Questions?

We are dedicated to helping you successfully renew your license so we have plenty of tools for you to utilize if you have any questions! We added a special Orthotic & Prosthetic FAQ section just for you in our Support pages which includes all of the most commonly asked questions from other licensees in your profession.

For your ultimate worry-free, personalized solution try our 7-Day Trial for our Professional Account. With your Professional Account you can access your CE Compliance Transcript, receive continuing education and license deadline reminders, report CE to your account and much more to simplify your renewal process.

Mobile Reporting

Our free iPhone App (Android coming soon!) will give you the tools you need to manage your CE from anywhere, anytime. The CE Broker App lets you report your continuing education quickly on-the-go! This way, you can ensure you have all of your requirements met before you renew your license. Talk about peace of mind!

Reporting CE Has Never Been Easier.
Reporting CE Has Never Been Easier.

How Do I Do It?

Reporting from your mobile phone is the same process as reporting on www.cebroker.com. Of course, if you take a course from an educational provider approved directly by the Board, they are required to report to CE Broker for you within 90 days. That completion will show up in your Course History and you will be notified as soon as it is recorded if you have a Professional or Concierge account.

Sometimes though you’ll have to report your hours yourself though, and it’s easier than ever with the iPhone app.

It takes just a few steps:

1. Open your iPhone App and click on the “Report CE” button at the bottom of your screen and follow the instructions as prompted.

Choose Report CE Tab at the bottom of the page.

2. Enter in the how many hours you completed and the date of completion for this course.

Enter Number of Hours Completed and Date of Completion.

3. Choose the correct Subject Area.

Select the Type of Credit You Completed

4. Fill out the name of the course and the name of the Educational Provider.

Attach Documentation or Maintain Your Own

5. Choose to “Attach Your Documentation” or choose to “Maintain Your Own Documentation.” To Attach your documentation, simply take a photo of your certificate of completion and attach to the posting. If you choose to maintain your own documentation, you will want to hold on to that certification of completion for up to 5 years as you could be audited and need to show proof.

AttachPhoto

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Click Submit CE and you will be asked to “Attest” that this information is true. After you attest you will get a green check mark that your CE credit has been successfully submitted!

Documentation Successfully Posted!

If you have any questions about how to report CE or questions regarding your license status, you can always reach our CE Experts. Call: 1-877-434-6323 or email support@cebroker.com.
Get started reporting today! Download our FREE iPhone App.

Download the CE Broker App Today!
Download the CE Broker App Today!

Optometrist Requirements

thumbnail-2

Florida Optometrists, it’s about time to renew your license! Your February 28th renewal date is quickly approaching. We want to be sure that your renewal process is quick and painless so this blog will lay out all of your requirements and answer any questions you might have. Keep reading to learn all the ins and outs of your license requirements.

What Are My Requirements?

All Optometrists are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education (CE) each biennium:

  • Two (2) hour course relating to the prevention of medical errors
  • Two (2) hour course in Florida laws and rules
  • Twenty six (26) hours in general CE​

All Certified Optometrists are required to complete 30 hours of CE each biennium:​

  • Two (2) hour course relating to the prevention of medical errors
  • Two (2) hour course in Florida laws and rules
  • Six (6) hours in transcript quality CE
  • Twenty (20) hours in general CE 

Is There Anything Particularly Important I Should Know?

  • Please note all continuing education must be live continuing education hours. Self study continuing education is not allowed.
  • Licensed practitioners shall be permitted to earn two hours of the 30 clock hours in the area of practice management and two hours of the 30 clock hours in the area of cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

More Information:

For more information on the renewal process, you can visit the Florida Board of Optometry website and click on the “Renewal” tab at the top of the screen or you can simply click on the link above. If you want to renew your license through the Florida Department of Health, click on this link to be redirected to their website.

We are dedicated to helping you successfully renew your license so we have plenty of tools for you to utilize if you have any questions! We have added a special Optometry FAQ section just for you in our Support pages. To find a specific course to fulfill any unmet requirements, you can watch our Course Search video by clicking on the picture below.

Watch our Course Search Video here to walk you through how to find the course you need

For your ultimate worry-free, personalized solution try our 7-Day Trial for our Professional Account. With your Professional Account you can access your CE Compliance Transcript, receive continuing education and license deadline reminders, report CE to your account and much more to simplify your renewal process.

Science and math prove that CE Broker Transcripts are the greatest advancement in continuing education of all time.

What is a CE (Broker) Transcript?

Likely, you have seen a transcript before.  You probably requested that your high school send your transcript to a prospective college.  It detailed your academic history, completed courses and grades.  It looked backwards and displayed your achievements.  A CE Broker transcript, however, does much more.  While documenting your successful completion of CE hours, our transcripts detail your renewal requirements, are specific to each individual, and “know” how to factor the CE hours that you earn into your overall requirements.

Renewal Requirements

The legislature passes laws.  The Boards add rules.  Insert fine print.  Insert fine print.  The staff at CE Broker wades through the quagmire of years of compounding regulations.  We hack.  We slash.  We probe and inquire.  Our CE experts deduce the original intent of the continuing education rules and determine the exact renewal requirements of every healthcare professional in Florida.

What determines your CE renewal requirements?  Profession.  License type.  License status.  Specialties.  Cycle number.  Licensed by exam.  Licensed by endorsement.  So on.  And yes, it gets more complicated.

Here is one example of the rules as described by the DOH:

Remember, these are the generic rules that would apply to you if there were no exceptions, conditions, or abnormalities dealing with the acquisition and maintenance of your license.  Compare this to a CE Broker transcript:

A subscription to CE Broker gives you ongoing access to these transcripts, and that is where the real value becomes evident.  These transcripts are not static, they are dynamic.  As providers of CE courses report hours into CE Broker, we automatically update your transcripts and reconfigure your overall requirements.  Here is a snapshot of a transcript with three courses reported:

Think of a GPS navigation system.  If you opt for a different route than the one selected, you can reconfigure the directions based upon your current location and you will find new directions.  CE Broker transcripts are updated every time new course completions are reported and give guidance as you proceed.

Our transcripts are smart.  We program all of the details of the DOH’s rules into our records.  Sometimes you may earn only a limited number of hours in a particular category, other times they can roll over.

There is also a summary of your renewal requirements and reported hours on the top of your transcript for quick reference.  Check the summary.  See from where that 1 missing hour comes.  Take a quick course.  Avoid the audit.

Once you have completed all of your renewal requirements, all that ugly scary red will transform into a cool, reassuring green.  “Complete” displays at the top of your transcript and you will never be audited.  This is an example of what all healthcare professionals should aspire to see before his or her license expires:

Be diligent in your professional development and take advantage of the option to have ongoing access to official CE transcripts.  This is a luxury allotted only to healthcare professionals in FL and nurses in D.C.  Visit CEBroker.com for more information