When you renew your license online before your May 31st renewal date, the Florida Department of Health will review your records in CE Broker. It will be required that all of your requirements be met and your hours are posted in order to renew successfully. So don’t wait until the last minute– complete and report your hours as you go so you don’t fall behind!
You can learn more about your renewal process at www.AreYouRenewalReady.com.
We want to give you a quick visual of all of your CE requirements, so you don’t have any surprises when renewing your license. The following chart contains all of the 24 total hours required for Florida Respiratory Therapists.
Your Hours– Broken Down:
There is a (16) sixteen-hour General (Direct delivery of respiratory care services) requirement. Of the (16) sixteen hours, (2) hours must be Medical Errors. Once the required subject area hours have been completed, the remaining hours can be completed in ANY subject area.
Two (2) credit hours must include Florida laws and rules to bring the licensee up to date on the laws and rules of the Board and the regulatory agency under which the Board operates.
A maximum of (5) hours of continuing education can be obtained in the HIV/AIDS subject area. However, HIV/AIDS is not required unless this is your first-time license renewal.
You are allowed no more than 12 hours of home study courses allowed per biennium.
If you have a Professional or Concierge Account with CE Broker, you can see whether you have met the requirements listed above in your CE Compliance Transcript. The transcript will automatically calculate compliance, so you know exactly where you stand before you renew your license. If something is required for completion of that biennium, you will see it listed as required. Once you have completed those hours, you will see that as fulfilled. If you have not completed those hours, you will see how many hours are still required for that section.
If you have a Basic Account, you will have access to your Course History, displaying all completed courses in the compliance progress dial. To ensure you are ready for renewal, manually calculate compliance by comparing your Board’s requirements with the courses you have completed.
What If This Is My First Renewal?
According to the Florida Board of Respiratory Therapists:
“Respiratory Therapists initially licensed in the second half of the biennium and are renewing a license for the first time renewing are only required to complete 2 hours of medical error and 3 hours of HIV/AIDS
If you are changing your status from CRT to RRT, regardless of when the license is issued, you are not exempt from the continuing education requirements.”
CE Broker iPhone and Android Apps- Continuing Education Simplified.
Our free CE Broker iPhone or Android app, available in the iTunes Store and in Google Play, is the best way to manage your CE from anywhere, anytime. You can create a FREE Basic Account and even upgrade to a Professional or Concierge account with your iTunes/Google Play account if you so desire. That means no credit card is required since your account on file is automatically charged. Once you download the app you need, you can see your Course History, Report CE, use the Course Search Tool and even view your CE Compliance Transcript. Visit the iTunes or Google Play store and download your app for free today!
What if I Have Questions?
We are dedicated to helping you successfully renew your license, so we have plenty of tools for you to utilize if you have any questions! We added a special Respiratory Therapy FAQ section just for Respiratory Therapists in our Support pages which includes all of the most commonly asked questions from other licensees in your profession. You can watch our Course Search video by clicking on the picture below to find a specific course to fulfill any unmet requirements.
Watch our Course Search Video here to walk you through how to find the course you need: