Nursing Requirements for License Renewal

thumbnail

Florida Registered Nurses — for all of you who are about to renew your license (with an expiration date of 4/30/2016), we want to give you a quick visual of all of your CE requirements. You don’t want to have any surprises when you are renewing your license! There is a chart below with your renewal requirements:

Nursing CE Requirements Chart

For more information on the renewal process, you can visit the Florida Board of Nursing website and click on the “Renewal” tab at the top of the screen or you can simply click on the link above. If you want to renew your license through the Florida Department of Health, click on this link to be redirected to their website.

What If This Is My First Renewal?

There are a few things to keep in mind if you are renewing your license for the first time.

If you are initially licensed by examination during the current biennium, you are exempt from the general CEU requirements for the first renewal. You must complete 2 hours of medical errors, 2 hours of laws and rules and 1 hour of HIV/AIDS (all must be taken from a Florida Board of Nursing approved provider).

If you are initially licensed by endorsement during the current biennium and took the exam in another state within the biennium, you are exempt from general CEU hours.  You must complete 2 hours of medical errors, 2 hours laws and rules and 1 hour of HIV/AIDS (all must be taken from a Florida Board of Nursing approved provider).

If you do not qualify for the exemption in your first renewal, you must complete 1 hour per month (not literally just used for calculation purposes) remaining in the biennium from the date the license was issued. These hours must include 2 hours of medical errors, 2 hours laws and rules and 1 hour of HIV/AIDS (all must be taken from a Florida Board of Nursing approved provider)

CE Broker iPhone and Android Apps- Continuing Education Simplified.

Our free CE Broker iPhone or Android app, available in the iTunes Store and in Google Play, is the best way to manage your CE from anywhere, anytime. You can create a FREE Basic Account and even upgrade to a Professional or Concierge account with your iTunes/Google Play account, if you so desire. That means no credit card is required since your account on file is automatically charged. Once you download the app you need, you can see your Course History, Report CE, use the Course Search Tool and even view your CE Compliance Transcript. Visit the iTunes or Google Play store and download your app for free today!

What if I Have Questions?

We are dedicated to helping you successfully renew your license so we have plenty of tools for you to utilize if you have any questions! We added a special Nurse FAQ just for you in our Support pages which includes all of the most commonly asked questions from other licensees in your profession. Want to learn more about CE Broker? Watch the video below!

For your ultimate worry-free, personalized solution try our 7-Day Trial for our Professional Account. With your Professional Account you can access your CE Compliance Transcript, receive continuing education and license deadline reminders, report CE to your account and much more to simplify your renewal process.

And remember…. don’t get overwhelmed. We are here to help you! 

funny-nurse-humor

 

8 thoughts on “Nursing Requirements for License Renewal

  1. 1 – How early can one start CE requirements for renewal? For example, if your license expires 4/30/2016, can you start as soon as your prior renewal is complete?
    2 – Once CE requirements are complete, how early can one renew? Do you have to be within a certain time-frame before expiration to renew?

    • Hey Carol,

      Thanks for reaching out to us with your questions. We are happy to answer those for you.

      1. If your License expires on 4/30/16- that means your Cycle started on 5/1/14- therefore you want to take course for that cycle within those dates(5/1/14 to 4/30/16), not before or after because those courses would fall under other cycles at that point.

      2. Once complete and all the proof is within your CE Broker account, you would go to http://www.flhealthsource.com click on Renew My License. The State will open Renewal for your Profession 120 days before.

      Please let us know if we can help further by answering any other questions you may have.

      • Thank you for your response! I called the Florida Dept of Health this morning and they gave me the same answers except they said that the window to renew (after CE credits are complete) starts *90* days before the date of expiration. That would make the renewal window for 4/30/2016 expiration to begin on Jan 31/Feb 1, 2016. Do you have a resource for the 120 days? Thanks again, Carol

      • Carol,

        Sorry for the confusion. I’ll clarify for you!

        The 120 days is in reference to when the Florida Department of Health will open the ability to renew before the expiration date of your license. The State will begin looking into each Licensees’ account for a more in-depth look at the courses 90 days AFTER the expiration date.

        I hope that clarifies the confusion for you.

      • Thank you for your reply. They told me today when I called that you can renew and time starting 90 days prior to expiration of your license. Do you think that the Customer Service rep at 850-488-0595 (FL Dept of Health Cust Svc) had it wrong?

  2. Renewal actually opens up at least 120 days prior to the expiration date. The FL Deptartment of Health is required to mail out your renewal notice 90 days prior to your expiration date, however, it is their practice to mail out the notices 120 prior to expiration when possible. So to ensure there is no confusion, they tell you you can renew 90 days prior (even though the online renewal may have opened up 120 days prior). Just know when you get your renewal postcard you can go online and renew! If you have any other questions, you can always call the DOH again at 850-488-0595 or call our Support Team at 877-434-6323.

    If you have any other questions, you can always call the DOH again at 850-488-0595 or call our Support Team at 877-434-6323.

    • Madge–

      I’m sorry to hear that you missed your renewal date. You can renew at any time post expiration date. 120 days prior to expiration is the time when online renewal is turned on, and you can renew anytime after that. I hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s